Audi Wired for New Formula E Season

Conceived in 2012 and intended to be the highest class of competition for single-seat, electrically powered racing cars, Formula E ran its first championship in Beijing in 2014.img   Audi’s been involved with Formula E from the beginning, and now will be the first German manufacturer to have a factory-backed entry in the all-electric Formula E series, which kicks off its 2017/18 season in early December in Hong Kong. Other marquee names like Jaguar, Renault, and Citroën’s DS sub-brand have Formula E teams as well, in addition to startups Faraday Future, NextEV, and Venturi.

2016/2017 FIA Formula E Championship. Monte-Carlo, Monaco Saturday 13 May 2017. Lucas Di Grassi (BRA), ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport, Spark-Abt Sportsline, ABT Schaeffler FE02.  Photo: Sam Bloxham/LAT/Formula E ref: Digital Image _J6I6589


“By 2025, every fourth Audi should be an electric vehicle,” Stefan Knirsch, head of Audi’s R&D, said. “In the light of these plans, adapting our motorsport program and taking up a commitment in a fully electric racing series is only a logical move.”

The Audi team will go in with a new name (Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler, differing from the current Abt Schaeffler Audi Sport; the name change signifies that supplier Schaeffler will still be a powertrain partner in the future), and a new powertrain, developed with Schaeffler.

Currently, Formula E teams use a common chassis and battery design, but they can devise their own designs for the electric motors.

“Formula E delivers spectacular motorsport in the hearts of fascinating cities and is a tremendous stage to present electric mobility and motorsport in their most emotive forms,” says Head of Audi Motorsport, Dieter Gass.

Share this:

Leave a Reply